Super Bowl IV

Super Bowl IV was the fourth AFL-NFL World Championship Game in professional American football, and the second one (after Super Bowl III) to officially bear the name “Super Bowl”. This was the final AFL-NFL World Championship Game before the National Football League (NFL) and the American Football League (AFL) merged into one league after the season.

The game was played on a wet Sunday January 11, 1970, at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana. This was the first Super Bowl played without the standard week off after the conference championship games (league championship games at the time). Strangely enough, the AFL had a week off between its divisional playoffs (the NFL played its conference championship games during the AFL’s off-week) and league championship game. The AFL started its 1969 season a week earlier than the NFL, and thus had an extra week to prepare for the Super Bowl. This would be the last Super Bowl played without the week off until Super Bowl XVII.

Super Bowl IV

The underdog AFL champion Kansas City Chiefs (11-3) defeated the NFL champion Minnesota Vikings (12-2), 23–7. Even though the Vikings were 12.5 to 13-point favorites, the Chiefs defense dominated the game by limiting the Minnesota offense to only 67 rushing yards, forcing three interceptions, and recovering two fumbles. This victory by the AFL squared the Super Bowl series with the NFL at two games apiece. The Chiefs became the second team after the Green Bay Packers to earn a repeat appearance in the Super Bowl, and the first to do so in different decades.

Kansas City’s Len Dawson became the fourth consecutive winning quarterback to be named Super Bowl MVP. He completed 12 of 17 passes for 142 yards and one touchdown, with one interception. Dawson also recorded three rushing attempts for 11 yards.

This entry was posted in Chiefs, History, Super Bowls, Vikings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>